History of ESM

More than 29 years ago novel was approached by Professor Leslie Klenerman to provide support for development of a user group meeting hosted by the University of Liverpool. The inaugural meeting began the following year in Liverpool at the Royal Infirmary Hospital.

At that time, we did not realize that over the years the ESM meeting would take us around the world from Liverpool to Vienna, Flagstaff, Ulm, Penn State, Brisbane, Munich, Calgary, Leeds, Spitzingsee, Dundee, Providence, Aalborg, Cambridge and Lisbon in 2016.

In 1991, the first novel award was presented in recognition of excellence in pressure distribution research. The novel award recipient was determined by an international review committee from the fields of biomechanics and medicine. The novel award for pressure distribution measurement research continued since then to be endowed by novel.

In 2010 the "novel award" was renamed the "art in science® Award". The prize will be awarded to scientists presenting papers not only associated with pedography or foot biomechanics, but for any research in the field of sensing body contact and dynamic load distribution.


The Most Promising Proposal (MPP) award was introduced during ESM 2012 in Aalborg and was very well received. This award is presented to the young investigator which presents a project proposal including the investigation of load distribution on the human or animal body.

The past ESM conferences have provided us with an opportunity to learn more about load distribution measurement applications and research. Meeting new and old friends and experiencing our hospitable host sites is also part of the tradition.

Next year we will be gathering in Munich/Spitzingsee, Germany to continue the great traditions of ESM. We warmly invite past ESM attendees to share the unique histories of the meeting and invite first time participants to join the ESM family.

Previous Winners of the novel award/art in science® award:

  • Lisbon 2016, Licia P. Cacciari, Brazil
  • Cambridge 2014, Henriette Gaertner, Germany and Renzo Pozzo, Italy
  • Aalborg 2012, Karsten Engel, Germany and Roelof Waaijman, The Netherlands
  • Providence 2010, Josh Slane, USA
  • Dundee, 2008, Scott Wearing UK
  • Spitzingsee, 2006 Wolfgang Potthast Germany
  • Leeds, 2004, Joshua Burns Australia
  • Leeds, 2004, Mark Thomson Germany
  • Kananaskis, 2002, Katrina S. Maluf USA
  • Munich, 2000, Matthew Nurse Canada
  • Calgary, 1999, Brian Davis USA
  • Brisbane, 1998, Margret Hodge Australia
  • Tokyo, 1997, Erez Morag USA
  • Pennstate, 1996, Dieter Rosenbaum Germany
  • Ulm, 1994 Michael Morlock Germany
  • Vienna, 1991 Benno Nigg Canada


ESM 2016 Award Winners & Winning Papers

art in science® Award
Multidimensional Loads Distribution along the Vaginal Cavity in Pompoir Practitioners
Licia P. Cacciari, University of São Paulo, School of Medicine, Physical Therapy, Speech and Occupational Therapy Dept., São Paulo, Brazil

Best Presentation Award
Influence of Step Frequency on Running Kinetics
Thomas Neitmann, Julius Wolff Institute, Charité – Universitätsmedizin Berlin, Germany

Best Poster Award
Effects of Foot Exercises in Long Distance Runners: A Pilot Controlled Trial
Ulisses T. Taddei, University of São Paulo, School of Medicine, Physical Therapy, Speech and Occupational Therapy Dept., São Paulo, Brazil

MPP Award (Most Promising Proposal)
Effects of Punching on Load Distribution inside a Boxing Glove – Experimental Assessment toward Injury Prevention
Cristina I. Vinescu, Department of Health Science and Technology, SMI, Aalborg University, Aalborg, Denmark

Last Updated: Tuesday, 07 January 2020 14:38